Brass Quintet

This has been a while in the making. I started it several years ago and had a two year gap where I could not finish it. Suddenly, though, inspiration hit me and I was able to complete it!. It’s sound world is taken from one of Messiaen’s Modes of Limited Transposition, and its influences include Beethoven, Bernstein and Reich.

It is structured in three movements: Fanfare and Introduction; Adagio; Finale and lasts in total for about 15-16 minutes.

There is so much I could write about this. I am very happy with it. It is dedicated to Pat Nunn, my composition teacher, now residing in Southern Italy as well as my beautiful wife, Cathy.

Below is the audio and a copy of the score. Parts are available upon request  Let me know if your quintet would like to play it!

  1. Fanfare and Introduction
  2. Adagio
  3. Finale
Here is the score. Parts are available and if your quintet would like to play it, just let me know!

745 Responses

Leave a Reply